Attend the Tennessee Hunter Education Field Day here in Cleveland, Tennessee on Saturday, January 31, 2015. This course is offered free of charge to anyone interested, regardless of age; however, you must be 9 years of age or older in order to become a certified hunter education graduate.
Click for more information and to register.
Registration Opens on December 20, 2014
What to expect
The basic Hunter Education Course provides firearms safety training and introduces students to their responsibilities in the fields of hunter ethics and wildlife management. The main objective of the Hunter Education Program is to reduce the potential for hunting accidents and ultimately reduce the number of hunting injuries. The course is taught according to standards established by the International Hunter Education Association. By meeting these standards the Tennessee Hunter Education program is recognized by all states, Canada, and Mexico.
The basic course is free of charge and consists of a minimum of ten (10) hours of classroom participation. Most classes generally last 12-16 hours. Students must successfully pass a written test consisting of 100 multiple choice questions. All students are required to participate in a live fire exercise, except the following: Hunter Education Live Fire Exemption. Students must attend all classes. Students need to bring their Social Security Number and a #2 pencil to the class.
Hunter responsibility toward wildlife, the environment, landowners and the general public
Archery and the history of modern day bowhunting
Tree stand safety
History of firearms
Blackpowder and muzzleloading firearms
Knowledge of modern firearms and ammunition
Proper gun handling and storage
Hunt preparation: specific laws and various equipment
Principles of wildlife management and wildlife identification
Who is eligible
The course is offered free of charge (excluding the online course) to anyone interested regardless of age; however, you must be nine years of age or older in order to become a certified hunter education graduate.
Parents are encouraged to go through the course with their child. Parents who participate and who pass the test will receive hunter education certification. Many states require hunter education certification regardless of age. Parents that do not wish to become certified, typically find the class is both informative and enjoyable.
What the law says
Tennessee Code Annotated 70-2-108 became law in 1985 and states:
(a) Every person born on or after January 1, 1969, before hunting, shall possess, in addition to all other licenses and permits required, proof of satisfactory completion of an agency approved hunter education course…
If you were born on or after January 1, 1969 you must possess proof of successful completion of a hunter education class before hunting in Tennessee.
Those under 10 years of age do not need a Hunter Education certificate, but must be accompanied by an adult at least 21 years of age, who must remain in a position to take immediate control of the hunting device.